Why you can’t understand Daniel Montbars, part V-A: going around the world again.

My wife left me 5 months ago, spent all my energy trying to win her back, and finally moved away from home 1 month ago. Anyway, I found a cheap room in a shared flat and kept my job as a programmer.

Chapter IV of my life is over now and I will write it later when I have time. Since then, I have been in a few bands, copied facebook twice, moved with my family in a great home, traveled to France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, and I am now in Estonia. I have realized that I just want to read, write, do and listen to music, play chess and of course travel, preferably by boat, and tent on the beach.

So I realized that I didn’t need a job nor do I need so much money to do this. So yeah, ten years ago I was in the streets, then I got rich, spent it all and decided to ditch my job and apartment to start chapter V. I’m now looking for a boat. This is what my announce is like.

Dear shipmates,

I have served on my grandfather’s boats all my life. He’s a great captain, amongst other things he taught me that swearing is tolerated during maneuvers. So don’t worry, I won’t feel offended if you start yelling and swearing during a maneuver hahahaha Yeah I’ve been on maybe a dozen of 2 to 4 weeks long trips, I love to traverse the bay of Biscay for example.

I’ve sunk an optimist with my cousin when we were children. Not even on a rock or something, it was just so used and bad quality it filled up with water during a regatta.

Why would you want to invite an adventurer, who sunk an optimist, on your boat ? Well, here are some reasons, mixed with excuses:

– you are curious, I’m not typical, I’ve been traveling instead of going to school, then I made a pretty good career in a technological sector and got rich, spent it all traveling, now I realized I don’t need money nor my work to travel and I quit my job and apartment,
– you want help with chores, I’m always happy to help with anything, can I please do all the chores ?
– you are open minded, I always have some funny ideas to submit, wanna go for a treasure hunt ?
– you think it’s fun to meet new people, let’s sing a song ! I’m always happy, always smiling, life is my treasure, every year of my life seems like the best !
– you want to be a character of an adventure book, I’m starting a career as a writer,
– you like art, either as an actor or spectator, I’m a poet, musician, street performer, always up for doing some music, singing and anything that can use some creativity,
– you want someone solid, I can find my way from anywhere, survive almost anything, I do not loose my temper, I am cold blooded in tense situations.
– you want to play chess …

And there is no compromise ! I will hitchhike to where you would like to pick me up, and then you can drop me in any harbor when you want …

A little about myself, my interests and my plans

I have quit my job and apartment for an undetermined time to backpack and tent and boat around the world. Adventure is awaiting at every corner, I’m not missing it !

Things I do:

– shore work ! Can I please help you ?
– read, I read as much as I can about sailing and survival, some books you want to recommend ?
– write, a book about adventure,
– play chess, with you ?
– play harmonica, ukulele, sing, or any instrument, do you want to jam ?
– tent on the beach,
– couchsurf,
– chat about anything, for enlightenment or just for fun,
– dance ! love to feel like an insignificant being in a huge universe, just dancing like nobody’s watching,
– smile and contemplate, I am never bored staring at the sky … and particularly at night in the middle of the ocean !

I’m also the best party mate you can find, I have been trained in the most obscure bars and nightclubs

My motivation and reasons to crew on a boat

I get along with anybody because I can learn from anybody. You can’t be as harsh as my grandfather anyway ! And if we don’t get along I can just swim away hahahaha

I love the sea, it loves me, it inspires me…

A sky filled with stars inspires me while the sound of the waves fulfills me.

During a storm, I operate at 150% capacity.

I want to learn everything about sailing and survival. Then I want to find a wreck and rebuild it and sail. Then sell it and do a bigger one. And again, until I have one big enough to cross the Atlantic ocean. Live in the bahamas for a while. My boat will be open to anyone – just like my home was on couchsurfing.

Leave a comment